Skip to Content

Environment of Care (EC) Standards

Search Icon

Element of Performance

Medical gas, medical air, surgical vacuum, waste anesthetic gas disposal, and air supply systems are designated as
  • Category 1: Systems in which failure is likely to cause major injury or death.

  • Category 2: Systems in which failure is likely to cause minor injury to patients.

  • Category 3: Systems in which failure is not likely to cause injury but can cause discomfort to patients. Deep sedation and general anesthesia are not administered when Category 3 medical gas systems are used.

  • Category 4: Systems in which failure would have no impact on patient care.


Access Options

If you would like to learn more about purchasing a facility subscription to this content, please click the button below.